A Brief History of Mohawk Valley Fire

2017 April 2017 - Steven Wallace becomes Fire Chief.
2015 Trent Dugger left Mohawk Fire for a Paramedic Firefighter position elsewhere in the state.
2015 Mohawk Fire takes delivery of a 2015 KME Pumper.
2015 Chris Barnes hired as new maintenance specialist.
2014 Added Jim Jansen as Webmaster and Web developer.
2012 Steven Wallace is hired to replace Katy Johnson as training officer.
2012 Steve Schultz Retires and Trent Dugger is hired as replacement as Maintenance Officer.
2011 Mohawk Valley purchases two new E-One Pumper Tenders. both tenders were purchased with funds from the district budget. This replaces the last two of the districts aging tenders.
2010 Mohawk Valley purchases a new type 5 brush rig with the aid of federal grant money.
2009 The construction of the district's new training classroom at Station #1 is completed.
2009 The construction of the district training grounds is started.
2008 Mohawk Valley purchases two new E-One Pumper Tenders. One tender was purchased with the aid of federal grant money, the other with funds from the district budget.
2007 Katy Johnson is hired to replace Greg Jack as training officer.
2006 With the aid of a FEMA grant, the district is able to update all of their personal protective gear, including new turnouts, boots, SCBAs and helmets. All aluminum air cylinders are replaced with carbon-fiber wrapped high pressure cylinders. In addition, the district purchases a new E-One Class A pumper to serve out of Station 1.
2005 Dennis Shew becomes Chief of the Mohawk Valley Rural Fire District
2000 Greg Jack Hired as First Paid Training Officer, and third Full time employee.
1994 Jim Brooker is hired to replace Shawn Bixler
1993 Marcola Rural Fire District become the Mohawk Valley Rural Fire District
1991 Shawn Bixler becomes Fire Chief and the first paid officer
1991 Steve Schultz hired as the first paid employee
1977-1991 MRFD fully staffed by volunteers and led by three successive Fire Chiefs; Jim Curtis, Mike Litle and Ken Faulk.
1977 March - Election to form Fire District.
1977 April - 1st Board Meeting - Terry Connolly, Calvin Rose, Howard Leighty, Gordon Stephens, & Donovan Fox.
1977 April - Jim Curtis appointed Fire Chief.
1976 June 3 - Wayne's Market Fire. June 5 - Marcola Elementary School Fire. June 10 - Marcola Tavern Fire.
1976 October - Lane County Local Boundary Commission approved a petition to form a Fire District.
1960 December 5 - Election to put Fire Department under the Water District. Lloyd Phillips appointed Fire Chief.
1952 Marcola Volunteer Fire Department formed. Brock Jones named Fire Chief
1940 September 13 - Marcola Water District incorporated by election